Mar Theodosius Memorial Inter School Debate Competition 2023 was organized by M.G.M.Senior Secondary School, Sector-6, Bhilai on 2nd December 2023.
The topic was “The emphasis on no rigid separation between scholastic and non scholastic areas as per NEP2020 would elevate India’s educational services sector”. Program was graced by Very Rev.Thomas Ramban, Vice President of St.Thomas Mission as Chief Guest.
The other guests were the Honorable Correspondent, Shri K.C Mathew, School and Church managing committee members.
Apart from the host school, MGM Senior Secondary School,Sector-6,Bhilai,the 8 other neighboring schools participated in the competition where each team consisted of two participants(For and Against).The program commenced with the school prayer. Principal In-charge Mr.Shaji Chacko, of the host school escorted the dignitaries for lighting of the ceremonial lamp which was followed by garlanding of the portrait of Late Lamented His Grace Stephanos Mar Theodosius by the Chief Guest.
The Chief Guest of the occasion Very Rev.Thomas Ramban in his speech emphasized the importance of Communication Skill and how it plays a major role in one’s overall development. He also paid his homage in reverence to the Patron His Grace Stephanos Mar Theodosius (Bade Baba). The Principal In-charge Mr Shaji Chacko also shared his views and wished the young debaters good luck.
The competition was adjudged by Dr.Rakesh Himte, Principal Rungta College of Engineering &Technology Bhilai, Dr.Sheela Vijay-Dr.Khoobchand Baghel Govt PG College Bhilai, Dr.Neeta Sharma-Shri Shankaracharya College Junwani.
Dr. Rakesh Himte highlighted the importance and beauty of NEP2020, he also emphasized the it was a wonderful learning experience for him. He bought the focus of attention on the three main aspects as per the NEP policy which was Knowledge, Skill Development and Abilities.

For the motion, Anushka Pathak of Sri Sankara School, Sector-10 bagged the second runner up position, and Shristi Singh of K.P.S, Sundar Nagar won the first runner up position, Winner Trophy was bagged by Aditi Chandrakar of M.G.M.S.S.S, Sec-6, Bhilai
Against the motion, Vanshika Tamrakar of Shakuntala Vidyalaya, Ramnagar, Bhilai and Ananya Soni of M.G.M.S.S.S, Sec-6, Bhilai won the first runner up position, Winner Trophy was bagged by Disha Pandey of K.H.Memorial, Jawahar Nagar, Bhilai.
The Winning Trophy was claimed by the host school M.G.M.S.S.S, Sec-6, Bhilai.
Shri K.C Mathew the Honorable Correspondent and Principal In charge of the host school, congratulated the participants, their mentors and everyone associated in making the competition a grand success.

The vote of thanks was proposed by Mrs. Mary Sajan which was followed by National Anthem.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *